What Is SLA? What Are the Types of SLA

Service Level Agreement(SLA) is an agreement between the Service Provider and its internal and external customers, which indicates that the Service Provider determines that the Service is committed to meet.

Commonly known Multi-level SLA structure components include:

Corporate level:

General issues regarding the company are covered, and they are the same throughout the organization.

For example, in accordance with the agreement on the security level at the company level, each employee must create an 8-digit password and change it every thirty days – or each employee must have an access card with a printed photo.

Customer level:

Those specific customer problems can be solved.

The security requirements of one or more organizational units are high. For example, the Department of Finance plays an important role and requires additional security measures through the management of financial resources.

Service level:

All issues relating to a particular service (in relation to the customer) can be covered.

It refers to all customers who have entered into a contract for the same service, for example, contracts for IT support services for all those who use a specific IP telephony provider.

The use of a multi-level structure for a large organization reduces duplication of effort while providing customization for customers and services. Therefore, company-level SLAs apply to all departments in this organization; customer-level SLAs apply to the department and so on.

An SLA document typically consists of:

  • Introduction to the SLA of what this agreement offers
  • Description of the service that the service supports this SLA and details of the service.
  • mutual responsibility, which is responsible for which part of the service
  • Scope of SLA
  • Applicable service time, when the service is provided in accordance with the agreement
  • Availability of the service, to the extent that the service is available during the service period and outside the service window
  • Reliability
  • customer service
  • points of contact and escalation; communication matrix
  • the services provided
  • Security
  • Costs used and payment method


These different terms can be misleading, especially for those who are not qualified in the ITSM who have included them. It is important to remember that there should always be a formal service level agreement that the provider provides to the customer and is documented in the SLA. This ensures that the customer knows what he can expect and that the supplier knows what he has to provide. The term is not as important as it is used. Many organizations simply use the term SLA to refer to all three of these types of service level agreements. This can greatly simplify communication between all parties, especially outside of ITSM, as most people understand the concept of service levels. Using the term SLA during interviews is more likely to lead to success in using ITSM. For the remainder of this SLA Best Practice Guide, this term will be used for all three types of agreements, including those with internal suppliers and those that are part of the contract with external suppliers.

How many SLAs should an organization have?

It is good practice for a vendor to have an SLA, including all the services that organizations provide to the vendor. This makes it easier to create a contract because the general conditions are the same, and services often have the same level of service. The SLA can then be updated to add new services or remove outdated services. There is no limit to the number of services you will need. There is good practice in a contract to ensure that all suppliers, including internal suppliers, are provided with SLAs. This helps to ensure that customer expectations are clearly identified and that suppliers understand them and understand the services that customers expect.

Components of the SLA report

SLA is a special internal reporting to create a report, enter the details of the SLA agreement with your service provider, specify the reporting period, use the appropriate filters, and then create the SLA report in PDF or CSV format.

For example, you can specify that the online status of your website from Monday to Friday is expected to be between 9:00 am and 5:00 pm, 99.98% and working hours between 17:00 and 21:00 for holidays. The weekend should be 99.5%

We will provide daily, weekly and monthly audit reports which will show “Time and cause” if not working time You can use these reports (consumers) and your service provider.


Add comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Get more stuff

Subscribe to our mailing list and get interesting stuff and updates to your email inbox.

Thank you for subscribing.

Something went wrong.